Bradenton Marauders win Florida State League Championship

The Florida State League Championship series came to an end on Monday night and the Bradenton Marauders won their first ever FSL Championship. The Marauders defeated the Tampa Yankees 3 games to 1 in the best of five series.

Bradenton’s championship was the first time since 2010 a Tampa Bay area team won the FSL Championship. The Tampa Yankees won the title in 2010 and 2009.

Tampa also was co-champion in 2004 and 2001.

Other area Florida State League champions include:

  • 1997 St. Petersburg Devil Rays
  • 1994 Tampa Yankees
  • 1993 Clearwater Phillies
  • 1986 St Petersburg Cardinals
  • 1975 St Petersburg Cardinals
  • 1973 St Petersburg Cardinals

With Bradenton, Tampa, and Dunedin in the FSL playoffs, there was a 75% chance a team from Tampa Bay would bring home the crown. Despite the abundance of local teams, attendance for local Florida State League playoff games were lower than average.

We will have more research on Florida State League playoff attendance in an upcoming post.

3 comments for “Bradenton Marauders win Florida State League Championship

  1. Dale M.
    September 16, 2016 at 11:13 pm

    They had the whole second half of the season to promote the playoffs, but yet only averaged probably 500 fans per game. Seems like a poor marketing effort to me.

    • Michael Lortz
      September 16, 2016 at 11:36 pm

      Possibly. It is a phenomenon that happens everywhere.

      • Dale M.
        September 19, 2016 at 1:30 pm

        Could be true, but the Marauders dropped 15,000 in overall attendance. Its such a great ballpark too bad it never has big crowds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *